STILL AROUND

  1. I’M STILL KICKING

              For anyone interested,  I am still shambling around.  Much older and weakened by time.  The diabetes is still chewing on my ass and the recovery from the stroke has apparently reached it’s peak.  The left side is still only about a quarter of the strength of the right.  Can move about in a pretty normal manner with a slight list to the left.  Any distance requires the use of the cane, and a mall calls for the walker,(a heavy-duty job with six-inch wheels a seat and breaks and of course the obligatory USMC reflectors and external cup holder and basket on the front.  No light weight aluminum toy for this 260# big boy.).  All in all, I feel lucky when I see others.

     I have not written any thing on the blog for months, It got to the point that trying to re tell material I had gleaned from others just too exustaning a task.  At this time I wish to apologise to a young lady known to me only as Sunshine Mendez.  I basically copied her story intact from another printed publication.  I did not know she had published it  on her own web site.  I simply read it and thought it would be a great addition to my group about Old West prostitutes.  It was indeed a great success, Kathy Westler who publishes a monthly Old West Journal read it and asked permission to repeat it in her journal.  I was flattered and of course agreed.  Miss Mendez saw it there and wrote me a scalding note, which I deserved.  All I can do is apologise here again as my attempts to contact her have failed.

     I no longer have the energy or drive to attempt these long       rehashing of these old tales.  The Billy The Kid set were exuasting              in the end.  Plus all the heat and disagreements from all the experts out there is not worth the trouble.

    In the end I am just too tired to carry on further, That plus the loss of my Marine Corps grandson early this year has sapped much of my interest also.

   So thanks for the continued support and interest in the site.  I cannot believe how it continues to draw readers every day.

Thanks to all!

ramblingbob

5 Responses to “STILL AROUND”

  1. Sheryl (Jeanes) Hammond Says:

    Hey Bob,
    Don’t know if you remember me. . . I was a friend of your sister’s (Janice) in highschool and beyond.
    She told me about your blog and I have been reading it occasionally, but Janice’s ex, Bill Hutchins, was here in CA for his 50 reunion this past weekend and he and I were talking about you. So thought I would look at your blog again. So sorry to hear about your grandson, your stroke and your diabetes. Sure hope things are looking up and you are feeling better. Try to keep on writing. . you are such a good author and you make it very interesting. Besides, it keeps your mind active, which is good for you. Take care, Sheryl

  2. Jane Austen Says:

    Dance as though no one is watching you.
    Love as though you have never been hurt before.
    Sing as though no one can hear you.
    Live and write as though heaven is on earth.

    We miss you kid!
    Jane

  3. mirandagavin Says:

    Is there any way to contact you offline? There are a couple of people who commented on your blog (see threads with names) and I’d like to get in touch with them. Pls let me know, I can be emailed: mirandagavin@hotmail.com
    Many thanks in advance for your time, Miranda
    Nanette Worden Says:
    July 6, 2010 at 3:31 am | Reply
    I am the the great great great granddaughter of Lottie Johl. My great grandma Mattie Baker was her daughter. She married at Lotti and Elis home when she was 16.

    carole thompson Says:
    July 9, 2010 at 8:01 pm | Reply
    Alice was my great grandmother although we knew about Billy very little was said about Grandma Libby as she was called until recently. It is interesting to the family to realize there is so much information about her out there

  4. Eamon H. Says:

    l was a member of the last platoon to qualify at Camp Mathews and was on the pistol range when Pres. Kennedy was assassinated. We were assembled at main side area and were informed by a chaplain and an officer. We were confined to base and watched the rest of the story on tv in a quonset hut.

  5. madelineclarke4317 Says:

    I was going through my niece’s textbook last night and I found this beautiful poem by Bhagwaticharan Varma. I wrote it down on a sheet of a paper early this morning before coming out of the house. I read it on a train. I read it on a bus. And now am here at my workplace, writing on your blog, that I am proud to say, I know each line of the poem by heart. Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

Leave a Reply

