JUST COASTING ALONG

THE WELLS KINDA RUN DRY AGAIN

     Well just kinda coasting along, the wells sort of run dry.  We have been having a few medical problems and the time I have spending on line has been brief.  And to tell the truth I have pretty well ran out of family and other tales to relate.  and the effort to gather the material for more of the old west stuff has been more than I felt like investing in.  However my new December issue of the National Geographic Magazine has a few page spread on current day cowboys.  It states that depending on who you talk to that there are between 10,000 to 30,000 working cowboys in the western North America’s today. 

     The article gives a description of the work ethics and duties that they preform, and some of the equipment used.  The photographer used a old time tintype camera for his pictures so they all have a old time look to them.  If you happen to get your hands on one look at the photo on pages 130-131 and you will see two excellent examples of the saddle I described in a earlier post, probably Do you Want to Be A Cowboy or Am I A Cowboy.  They both have the high Cantel, the back of the seat.      They are listed as a swell-fork and a slick-fork saddle.  The swell-fork on the right refers to the bridge across the front of the saddle, you can see that it swells out to each side.  What this dose is it allowes  the rider to stand n the sturip and lean forward bracing his thighs against the swell.     The slick-fork rig is narrower and has no well.  It is just the individual preference of each rider as to what he likes.  But both rigs hace the high back to help the cowboy stay in the saddle.

     Also the article breaks down by geographical area the different styles of “cowboy’s”.  In the Great Basin they call them Buckaroo, in the Great planes Cowboy and Thur the Greater Texas area Cowpuncher, while in Mexico Vaquero.  They different styles of dress and equipment are mentioned.  Working in more wide open spaces the Buckaroo’s use a rope up to 80 feet long, while the Cowpunchers are located in closer heavy brush prefer a shorter rope. 

     I have an excellent book on the modern cowboy that I have not read completely.  When I have the time to finish it I will give a more thorougher report on the subject.  Let me just close with this, in almost every western state there are at least a few large ranches where the working cowboy still exists and does most of his work on horse back.

     Now for a short report on my wannabe status, I finally received my new holster set, ordered over four months ago.  I had truly reached the point of abandoning hope of receiving it.  It is of really good quality and workmanship.  This set consists of a 3″ wide gun-belt with 30, .45 cartridge loops, and a right hand cross-draw holster for my 7 1/2 inch barrel Ruger Vaquero and a right hand straight drop holster for my Uberti 3 1/2 inch Thunderer.    Now if I ever get the energy and the place I can go play cowboy with the rest of the guys.

Well more later, thank for dropping by.  also in the works are a few of the outlaw gangs starting with the Dalton’s.

ADIOS FOR NOW

ramblingbob

2 Responses to “JUST COASTING ALONG”

  1. wholeenchilada Says:

    Hiya – the well isn’t dry, just need to pump a little harder! Would love to see some photos of that holster set, glad you finally got it!

    If you didn’t know it already, this is a new blog I started last month to toy with writing different subjects. I included a post with the “sun tan turkey” mom sent a while back and the video of the kitty alarm clock I love. Nothing much worth reading for you there but I thought I’d stop by and say Hello from the Whole Enchilada, since I was reading this post anyway.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you, mom and all!

    -Raven

  2. ramblingbob Says:

    When I saw this on my blog page I went there to see what it was. No I did not know about this one. have placed it in my favorites, found it interesting. will read more later Dad

Leave a Reply

