Boot Rifle Tranning at Camp Mathews

     I subscribe to a weekly newsletter called Sgt. Grunt.  It is published weekly on Fridays by a one of us Marines who never quit being a Marine after we quit wearing the uniform.  It has a store site where you can purchase Marine related items, but mostly it consists of short letters, remembrances and salutes to us marines active and inactive.  

     You have probably figured I’m a old bird by now, but some of these letters really remind me just how old I’m getting to be.  For instance recently there has been a spate of entries regarding the old boot rifle training camp at Camp Mathews.  This camp no longer exists as one of the letters noted last Friday.  The old Marine stated his platoon was the last to do rifle  there in 1964.  This was where the recruits at the San Deigo Recruit Depot got their live fire training.  I did my rifle training in nineteen-fifty-six.  Camp Mathews was located north of San Deigo in what is Layhola now.  It sat just off old highway 101 on the east side of the road.  It was a series of rolling hills and gullys, with the rifle ranges located in the lowest valleys. 

     We were bussed up to Mathews in old grey Navy buses, with our rifles and duffel bags.  We lived out of the duffel bags for the whole duration of the time spent there.  I disremember if it was four or six weeks, but it was a pain in the a$$.  We were quartered in row after row of eight man squad tents.  These were erected over a plywood floor with a outside frame of two by fours, with the heavy five inch octagon pole in the middle supporting the whole thing.  If you ever saw the TV series MASH that was what our living quarters looked like.  Except we did not have the mesh siding like they did.  On hot days we could with permission roll the sides up (seldom given).  At night they were rolled down and secured it was almost not worth the trouble to roll the sides up.  We had eight canvas army cots in each tent around the outside edge.  Each day was started with the cleaning and police our tents and entire area with the walks swept and the dirt Lawn raked. 

     In boot camp we had no first name unless there was someone else with the same last name then a initial was used.  In our platoon we had two sets of brothers and a set of cousins.  They were known a big Decker and little Decker, Plugh 1 and Plugh 2 and Riley 1 and Riley 2.  But I deviate from my story, one night we had turned in with lights out, now after lights out there was  no talking allowed.  One guy named Robert Washington chimed out with goodnight Bob seven times.  One other asked what the hell you doing?  He replied I just thought all of us in this tent is named Robert, a thought that had escaped us all.  About that time the drill instructor stuck his head into the tent and blared “Bob up and kiss my A$$,   And give me fifty pushup’s”.  This was September and early November, hardly more than a mile off the ocean.  It was hot in the days but bitterly cold and often foggy at night.  We had these old cots with the thin canvas     bottom two sheets replaced weekly and the two thin wool blankets we had brought with us.  It got cold at night.  Each tent had a kerosene heater in it which when we were allowed to light them were useless in these tents and most of the time they would not ignite and when they did gave off a vile fume that was sicking.  We burned by day and froze by night but they were making tough Marines out of us kids. 

     let’s talk about the fun and games all day every day was spent learning how to aim and fire the weapon.  Hours and hours of snapping in, practicing aiming and squeezing the trigger.  then exercises to strengthening the arm mussels which left you arms so exhauted you could not hold the rifle steady.  March or run from one site to the other and if the DI was pi$$ed maybe you duck-walked with your rifle over your head.  Seems like we did a lot of duck-walking, every so often we fell out with our duffel bags  on our shoulders and duck-walked up and down some crappy hill.  We had one poor black guy who had been in the Marine Corps Reserve.  He had his full issue of clothing winter greens, summer khakis and being from Chicago even the heavy wool overcoat.  His bag weighed way more than the rest of us.  The DI gave him no breaks, sweat would pour off his head and soak his clothes.  I do not know how he survived it.

     On Sundays all through boot camp you could attend church service on base in formation.  We were allowed to purchase a certain number of Sunday newspapers for a few short hours on Sunday morning this was the only contact we had with the out side world other than our letters from home.  Sunday was grab a$$ day, we would be marched off to some remote area and usually be pitted against another platoon in some form of rough game.  Usually shirts against skins, in some contest which usually consisted of us all jumping into a pitt andtrying to eject the other side out by force.  Of course your DI was not happy if your platoon lost.  The one I hated the most had a huge six foot diameter ball we had to try to push past a goal line.  I was run over by the ball and trampled under foot more than once and once used as a battering ram.  At that time I was six foot tall and weighed one-hundred-eighteen pounds, just a long stick.

     We finally fired for qualification and this phase of training was over and we were to return to the depot in San Deigo.  the rumor was we were going to hike back so I convinced the guys we needed to fill our canteens.  We never kept water in them for some reason, but many followed my lead.  We lucked out and were bussed back to base. About half way the radiator on the buss we were riding in overheated.  After pulling to the side of the road and watching the rest of the convoy fade into the distance we asked the young driver if they carried jerry cans of water and he said no.  We were standing around scractching our a–es and heads.  I stepped up and handed the driver my canteen and said use this.  He laughed at me and said that ain’t enough.  To which I replied well there is thirty of us.  So there we stood along side highway101 with a line if young Marine Boots handing a navy pog our canteens and we made it back to base thirty minutes late.  Of course the Di blamed us for being late.

     Well those days are long gone and so is Camp Mathews.  Tucked into the memory of a old Marine Boot.  Got to rambel now ramblingbob 

109 Responses to “Boot Rifle Tranning at Camp Mathews”

  1. Steve Says:

    They had good desserts there also,the cooks &bakers school was there.

  2. Merle Fountain Says:

    Boot there in 1953, several platoons there as DI in 1956, 1957.
    Its UCSD campus these days. Amazing transformation

  3. Bert OLoughlin Says:

    Brings back many memories of Camp Mathews – especially duck walking up those damn hills.

  4. ramblingbob Says:

    You know now suppoedly they do not duck walk the recruits, because it suppoedly is harmfull to the knee’s (wonder if that is why mine are bad 50 years later? lol). But damn we sure did a bunch of it way back when.

  5. Prisciliano Avalos (percy) Says:

    I went throught Camp Matthews in 1964. Platoon 320,commenced 7 Feb 1964 was the last or next to last to qualify at Camp Matthews before it was turned over to UCSD. Most of us went to the fighting 7th, Camp Las Pulgas and the very next year(May 1965) we mounted out to South Vietnam.

    Semper Fi
    Percy (C 1/3 & H 2/7)

    • Raymond Potter Says:

      I would like to communicate with you. I am retired MGySgt Potter, PLT 111, 1964, MCRDSD, member of Utters Bn, H&S 2/7. I started life in Las Pulgas as well. At Mathews we lived in Quanset Huts, up on the hill from the tents. The very Quanset Hut I stayed in was a remote library on the UCSD Campus for years before it was torn down.
      Now the VA Hospital sits on the site of the CG’s HDQS and today only the 5 quansets on MCRDSD remain, across from the new Receiving Barracks.
      Spent many days on MCRDSD as a DI. Know several of the former H 2/7 guys. Semper Fi. MGySgt Potter

      • Percy avalos Says:

        Hello MGySgt Potter, i just now came across your posting. I was assigned to Hotel 2/7 July 1964. I was in the 1st Platoon. My CO was Cpt. OConner. We landed in Que Nhon 17 July 1965 and conducted several Operations in the area and eventully moved up to Chu Lai. I was reassigned to a Security Unit in late Dec of 1965 and stayed there untill i roated back in June of 1966. My second tour started in July 1967-1968 with C 1/3 and then discharged from active duty in Feb 1968. Take care and talk to you later.

        Semper Fi
        Percy (C1/3 & H2/7)

  6. Fred Cianci Says:

    I went through in mid May 1963. We forced marched with full pack and gear from Highway 1 to the camp. Can’t remember if it was 4 or 6 weeks but it was alot longer than the 2 weeks they do today. Qualified Rifle Expert with a 236 score, highest in Battalion. Brings back great memories, and started me on a lifetime love for long range shooting, which I still do today at 63.

  7. Robert L. Dark Says:

    Through Camp Matthews in July 1956. At this old age I would love to do it again. Platoon 182. What fun!!!

  8. Doc Smith Says:

    Yep, your reading it right, MCRD, Plt. 344, 1959, got out 63, joined the Navy, Corpsman, Field Med School, then FMF for next 16 years. Once a Marine always a Marine. That was a great description and brought back a lot of memories. Our DI had us fill our seabag with bedding and what ever else we had. Fall out, throw it down the hill, right across the company street, retrieve it, as needed. Then fall back in your tent, take everything out of the seabag and be ready for inspection in some humanely impossible short amount of time. That duck walking was not a good thing. I think they’ve changed a lot of the ways they do things now.Plt. 344 was right across the company street from the confidence course, so we got started on that sooner than 1st and 2nd Bn.s.
    Keep your K-bar whet, and your haversack dry. Semper Fi

    • ramblingbob Says:

      Had my K-bar for 51 years. It held a edge better than any thing I ever had. Gave it to my grandson on graduation from boot camp in 06. He has just returned from his tour of duty in Afghanistan. 6-2, 160 pounds of lean, hard, closed mouth Marine. Not much talk of the bad shit he endured. Saw three of his close comrads killed in front of him. Worse than Viet Nam, getting permission to engage, hell of a way to wage war.

  9. Lee Revell Says:

    Went through Camp Matthews in November of 1960. I remember agony hill well. We usually duck-walked it evenings after snapping in and/or firing all day. Had cake to celebrate the Marine Corps Birthday on the 10th. After qual day, we force marched back over the hills and to a point where we were picked up by cattle cars and driven back to MCRD. Our platoon (288) graduated on Pearl Harbor day, Dec. 7th, 1960. 49 years later, I continue to realize that the Corps owes me nothing……on the contrary. I will be forever indebted to it for instilling in me the virtues that have guided me through a great life. God, I miss those good ‘ol days! Semper Fi.

  10. Mike Harris Says:

    I went through Camp Matthews in April of 1960, Platoon 218. I recall Duck Walking only once when someone didn’t pre-qual. Upon reaching the tent camp, we had a talk with him. He qualified the next day.
    My favorite memory is eating an Olive while still in the chow line and being seen by my D.I. He stomped over to the line and his hot breath hissed in my ear to see him in the Duty Tent after chow. Eating was not a pleasure that evening and the punishment was worse than I thought. For eating an Olive, I was “awarded” 500 squat jumps to commence immediately in front of the Duty Tent. I made it to 250 before my legs cramped up and I fell over.

  11. Hal Brown Says:

    I went through Camp Matthews in August, 1951, with Plt. 194. The training and qualifying then was three weeks, but then my platoon had to pull one week mess duty there so we spent four weeks in those tents.

    Hal Brown, Sgt. 1951-1954

  12. Doc Kiesel Says:

    What memories! We only “duck walked” a few times in late 1960 but we had to carry our foot lockers on our backs. I also remember the whole platoon having to line up at the DI’s door and each and every one of us were given an attitude adjustment. And heaven forbid if you tightened up your stomach muscles because Gunny would make it that much worse. Ahhhh, those were the days

  13. Doc Kiesel Says:

    and we did HIKE all the way back from the rifle range to MCRD.

  14. James Lewis Says:

    Went through rifle training at Camp Mathews in November of 1961, Platoon 178. What a raw, beautiful landscape; about five years ago, I was saddened to hear it is now part of a college campus in the middle of civilization. I hated those tents at Camp Mathews, also. We about froze at night, but we were never allowed to light the stove that set in the middle of the tent. We had to roll up those sides of the tent every day. I qualified as high sharpshooter (216), but the other three times while on active duty in the Corps (1961 – 1966), I qualified as expert. We did some duck-walking, but mostly we just ran. We had a D.I. that just loved to run us for miles almost every night. That overnight bivouac and hike back from the range (at the end of rifle training) was something I remember vividly (rough).
    Thanks for reliving the memory.
    James Lewis

  15. Walter Zorich Says:

    Went through rifle training at Camp Mathews with Platoon 364 October 1953,One night about mid-night our Drill Instructors woke up the Platoon had us fall out in our scivvies (cold) a member of the platoon Earl Utnage (spelling may be different) from St.Louis Mo.I am also from St.Louis. Thought it was funny and started smiling, the Drill Instructor told Pvt Utnage to wipe the smile off his face,he tried but it returned the Drill Instructor picked up a rock started striking Pvt Utnage on the top of his head telling him to wipe the smile from his face throw it on the ground stomp on it kill it and bury it ,the smile returned several times ,the Drill Instructor repeated the drill until the smile was killed.
    Great Memories Semper Fi
    Sgt Walter J. Zorich

  16. Walter Zorich Says:

    To Prisciliano Avalos (percy) my brother Tony Zorich was with 2/7 and went to Vietnam in 1965

    • Robert Cole Says:

      I was in A-1-8 weapons plt. 66-67 Camp Lejuene. Went to Cuba Jan.67
      with a Tony Zorich just wondering if he’s the same Tony. He and his buddy Cpl. Dull would always get into a fight with each other, after coming back from the club. Would be buddy’s again the next day. No big deal just wondering!

  17. Ellis Badon Says:

    My time at Camp Mathews was spent with Platoon 256 probably in October 1961. I arrived at MCRD in early August 1961 and it seems to me that we spent only two weeks at Camp Mathews. I remember those tents and having to live out of the seabags. Duck walking, judging from the comments made here, must have been discontinued just prior to my enlistment. I do remember our drill instructors complaining about how soft we had it because they could not make us duck walk. They did show us how it was done. Very interesting. However, I don’t remember it being cold at nights. Perhaps the nights weren’t so cold in October or we were just lucky. I also remember the forced marches to and from rifle training. Funny stuff now, but not so funny then. If I had it to do all over again, I wouldn’t hesitate to sign up. I have three lasting friendships from my days in the Corps and they are the most fulfilling of my life. Semper Fi Bud, Mike and Benny and Marines everywhere.

    • ramblingbob Says:

      Well, I also was in Mathews in Oct. and many nights were cold as heck and we had wet fog. and those damn stoves newer saw a match. Also several times they tried to light the useless things for us in MCRD , only once did it work and the fumes were worse than the cold.

    • tom dicks Says:

      went thru mattews in sept 1962 plt#162 we were made to duckwalk at the range and at mcrd we would be glad to do it again semper fi to gunny rodgers and fuck you to cplsmith

  18. cpl hatton Says:

    our plt 184 went thru boot at diego in the summer of 1956, we qualified and did our mess duty at tent city camp Matthews. Still rememer the outhouses and Rifle Instructor there. So Glad I qualified, those who didn’t did lots of Duck Walking. Semper Fi to all the Corps everywhere. Have family and friends serving now most in Afganistan.

    God Bless The Corps,
    Cpl hatton

    P.S. Ssgt Baca was our senior Drill Instructor

    • joe hatfield Says:

      i am joe hatfield from indiana. my best friend was dan halbrook. i too well remember sgt baca. my bunk mate was jerry rifenstall. i remember you. i liked sgt magoo and valenswayla. with your name starting with an, h , we were in the same hut at mcrd. i think we were at camp matthews for 4 weeks. i have tried to locate halbrook for years with no luck. really nice to come across you.

  19. JC Says:

    my father was a graduate of the Third Battalion Platoon 325 from san diego. i still have his graduation book, if anyone would like copies. i am looking for any info i can get from his time spent there.

  20. Rudy Gallegos Says:

    I went through Camp Mathews in late Nov and early Dec 1965. Platoon 288. I hated mess duty. Most of us were 17 or 18. I shot expert. 221. A year later I got lazy and shot marksman at Camp Lejeune. Never let that happen again.

  21. Rudy Gallegos Says:

    I stand corrected. I said that I went through Mathews in 1965. Platoon 288. It was in late Nov and early Dec 1962.

  22. Ron Sorensen Says:

    Plt 331-june 63 big agony and little agony will never be forgotten

  23. James Halverstadt Says:

    I was in the last Platoon(358) to go through Camp Mathews in 1964.
    It took a few years but I still remember and use all the lessons and technics I learned there.
    Semper Fi

  24. head down products Says:

    head down products…

    […]Boot Rifle Tranning at Camp Mathews « The life, times and adventures of Rambling Bob[…]…

  25. gun web design Says:

    gun web design…

    […]Boot Rifle Tranning at Camp Mathews « The life, times and adventures of Rambling Bob[…]…

  26. Thomas J. Mott Says:

    I enlisted in the Marine Corps in 1958 # 1851987, platoon 1007 at mcrd. We went to camp matthews in cattle cars and lived in the tents near the front gate, it was ok, i had a crystal set with ear phones to listen to music at night. The DI’s were Guy Dewolf, s/sgt, and herman c clunk who got busted for sellng drugs to the recruits and a punk little sob named sgt. zimmers. FOR YOUR INFORMATION, the butts are still there on the east side of the freeway. where the freeway is now, we used to march to the butts and there was a small bridge at arrival the DI would say “Over the bridge HUH”, thats now the San Diego Freeway. GOOD TIME!

  27. us open Says:

    marc jacobs miley cyrus##

  28. two man tents Says:

    two man tents…

    […]Boot Rifle Tranning at Camp Mathews « The life, times and adventures of Rambling Bob[…]…

  29. John H Lawson Says:

    Did the rifle range thing at Camp Matthews in Oct/Nov 1956 plt 2039 and to this day have vivid memorys of sleeping in those cold damn tents and the next worst thing was the COLD showers because they had a very small water heater-we ducked walk so much that we started quacking.Also did my messduty here and it was here that I learned that the reason my eyes were burning was due to SMOG,being from Ohio I had never heard of such a thing.We did not have to hike back to MCRD because we left on NOV 10 and had to get back for the parade on the Grinder.Which is another unforgettable memory,so was the next 3 yrs.Semper Fi Cpl Lawson

  30. J D Diggs Says:

    1957-plt#254 July remember duck walking backwards with rifles over our heads…what a wreck, we went down one side of a gully and up the orher. The ground was nothing but powder. At the PX Pvt Moses got caught buying a plug of brown mule chewing tobacco. He sat in front of us swing his legs with the whole plug in his mouth, the drill instructor would hit him in the adams apple with his swagger stick and make him swallow. We were doing stationary double time with our sea bags on our heads. He was one sick Pvt.
    J D Diggs—Ralls, Tx
    57-60

  31. Thomas Gray Says:

    This Marine went through Camp Matthews in 1958; firing the M-1 rifle, 1911A1, Ruger 22 Caliber pistol. Remember Duck Walking “Big Agony” and “Little Agony” well. We were billeted in 10-Man tents and also lived out of our seabags. My platoon (338) hiked back to MCRD, at the completion of marksmanship training at Camp Matthews, no “cattle-cars” for us.

  32. Dan de la Torre Says:

    In 1958 I joined a USMC Reserve Helicopter Group out of NAS, Oakland, Calif.
    Went to boot camp at MCRD San Diego ( Platoon 296.) Then to Camp Mathews for our MI Rifle qualification. I remember one of the duties there was to pull targets and mark the hits, two recruits to each target. A miss was called a “Maggie’s Drawers.” When the target shooting started, we were told to sit with our backs against a cement wall for safety. Looking up we could see the bullet holes when the target was hit. Then it happened, a US Marine Corp cal. .30 bullet ricocheted off something and embedded into the cement wall between me and my partner, just inches from our heads. An Officer came over and couldn’t believe his eyes as he pulled out the slug. I remember we were questioned by an old crazy Sgt. who ran the target pits. I guess he was scared to death of what would have happened.

  33. Alan Retchless Says:

    I, too, suffered the agonies of the duckwalk more than once. We did
    it with foot lockers on our backs. I enjoyed this extra-curicular activity
    which seemed very funny to the DI’s. If memory serves me correctly, I was there for 4 weeks. One week doing mess duty. Spent the month of February, ’56 there. Hated it when the “Johnny Miller” food
    wagon rolled in and we didn’t dare look at it!
    Semper-Fi

  34. Camp matthews | Zullfikar Says:

    […] Boot Rifle Tranning at Camp Mathews « The life, times and …Feb 7, 2007 … I went throught Camp Matthews in 1964. Platoon 320,commenced 7 Feb 1964 was the last or next to last to qualify at Camp Matthews before it … […]

  35. Harvey Cash Says:

    I was in platoon 258 grauated OCT 16 1963 we went to Camp Mathews in Aug- Sep of 63 rifle range distance was 200 300 500 yards using the best rifle ever made the m14. I shot a 232 being a expert which i’m still very proud of still today my last day of traing at pendelton was Nov. 22 1963 Sad day same day Kenndy was killed .Old memories are for ever semper fi.

    • Ray Says:

      I was a coach at Camp mathews in 1963 and we hated to see the new screws coming from MCRD because we feared for our life at times. I was recognized as “Coach of the Quarter” that Fall with a 99.9% qualifying rate by the Base Commander. I hated the occasional stray rounds that nearly missed us on the line and recuites that “jerked” the trigger. Slamming their finger in the weapon’s breach normally stopped the jerking. Seriously, I too was a Hollywood Marine and qualifed Expert every year with the M1 & pistol which is the reason I ended up at Mathews after my RECON days.I may have been your coach? Those were great times and life was fun even if we did duck walk, right? Semper Fi Marine!

  36. The Frisco Kid Says:

    I went Mathews in Dec. 1949 and it was the worst time in my 18 years. December was the coldest month I ever experienced (I was a native Californian). We didn’t have stoves in our tents but they did issue us an extra blanket. It was no fun lying in the cold, wet ground and snapping in for hours. I remember qualification day we all had shivers trying to aim at the black. Thank God for the prone and sitting positions or none of us would’ve qualified.
    In boot camp I qualified for an Aviation MOS so of course, after graduating, I was assigned to advanced infantry training at Camp Pendleton, little suspecting that North Korea had a party in store for us in a few short months.
    BTW, I never had any experience with the M14 but my buddies who stayed in The Corps said it was a fine rifle but they still preferred the M1.
    Semper Fi from an old Geezer.

  37. Alan Dvorkin Says:

    Camp Mathews was for me the best part of Boot Camp. We were Plt. 243 and as I recall we were taught more that the M14, we also got to lug the BAR and it’s ammo can up and down the hills; and if I am not mistake we had our first exposure to granade practice. Most of us ended up in Viet Nam and a large number never came home. We had one member of our Plt. awarded the CMH. Hope those of you who are still around are healthy and well.

  38. Jim Williams Says:

    My name is Jim Williams and I was PMI on the range at Camp Mathews 1963-64. Hey guys I haven”t seen one word about the PMI’s and how they helped you all qualify. I can remember a large number that never would had it not been for his coach. SEMPER FI

    • boomernc Says:

      My name is Tom Slone went thru Camp Mathews Nov of 1963 Platoon 183 I remember sleeping in those Quansent huts freezing cold and hik
      ing to the Rifle Range full pack qualified with the M14 230 damn good weapon

  39. Thomas Gray Says:

    Well Williams, Semper Fi to you, a PMI!

    • John H Lawson Says:

      I,m a old man these days and as such i confess that I ,m not sure what a PMI would do,my 1st guess would be fiflecoach and if thats correct in 1956 you would be the guy that promised to hit my head with the 8 rnd clip for the M1 if I bucked my next shot,am I warm??

  40. Kian Says:

    I’m extremely pleased to discover this web site. I wanted to thank you for ones time due to this fantastic read!! I definitely really liked every bit of it and I have you book marked to look at new stuff in your website.

  41. William Rainey Says:

    Went through Camp Matthews in July 1964, Platoon 353; I remember snapping in very well and having to dump a bucket of sand in my sea bag, followed by a bucket of water for leaving my lock unlocked! What a mess! Sgt. Teason, Cpl Fisher and Cpl Koboski (not sure of his spelling) were the DI’s in our platoon.

  42. http://www.weeklyvolcano.com/ Says:

    When I initially commented I clicked the
    “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a
    comment is added I get several emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service?

    Thanks a lot!

  43. verdopple deine dates Says:

    Link exchange is nothing else however it is just placing the
    other person’s webpage link on your page at proper place and other person will also do same in support of you.

  44. Robert Paulus betrug Says:

    You made some really good points there. I checked
    on the net for more information about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this website.

  45. haarausfall Says:

    naturally like your website but you have to test the spelling on quite
    a few of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it
    very troublesome to inform the reality on the other
    hand I’ll definitely come again again.

  46. hemorroides cura casera Says:

    I am in fact delighted to read this web site posts which consists of lots of valuable
    data, thanks for providing such statistics.

  47. Elliot Says:

    Hurrah! Finally I got a blog from where I be capable of in fact obtain helpful facts concerning my study and knowledge.

  48. http://manyfriends.net/ Says:

    This excellent website really has all the information and facts I needed
    about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  49. emorroidi interne Says:

    Terrific work! That is the type of information that should
    be shared across the web. Shame on the seek engines for not positioning this publish upper!
    Come on over and discuss with my website . Thank you =)

  50. Earnest Says:

    Have you ever thought about writing an ebook or guest authoring
    on other websites? I have a blog based on the same topics
    you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.

    I know my viewers would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free
    to shoot me an e mail.

  51. http://www.reise-familie-freizeit.de/behandlungsmoglichkeiten-von-hamorr... Says:

    Great weblog here! Additionally your site so much up fast!

    What host are you the usage of? Can I get your affiliate link on your host?

    I wish my web site loaded up as quickly as
    yours lol

  52. john Lawson Says:

    Beginning on Apr 15 there have been NO comments or any quotes having to do with Camp Matthews or the Marine Corps so my ?? is has the format changed or has the site been renamed about another subject??

  53. Hämorrhoiden Says:

    Hi, I do believe your web site may be having internet browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in
    I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up! Besides that, excellent site!

  54. hämorrhoiden behandlung Says:

    I delight in, result in I found just what I used to be looking for.
    You’ve ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  55. Haarausfall Says:

    I all the time used to study article in news papers but now
    as I am a user of web therefore from now I am using net for articles or reviews, thanks to web.

  56. Bauchmuskeltraining Says:

    This is the perfect blog for anybody who would like to find
    out about this topic. You know so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that
    I really would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new spin on a topic
    which has been discussed for years. Excellent stuff, just excellent!

  57. Eugenio Says:

    Its such as you read my mind! You appear to grasp a lot approximately this, such as you wrote the e book in it or
    something. I believe that you could do with some percent
    to drive the message home a little bit, however other than that, that is
    wonderful blog. A great read. I will certainly be back.

  58. posterous.com Says:

    Superb blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused .. Any ideas? Kudos!

  59. Sheree Says:

    Awesome! Its genuinely amazing article, I have got much clear idea regarding from this article.

  60. Learn More Here Says:

    If some one needs to be updated with latest technologies therefore
    he must be pay a quick visit this web site and be up to date all the time.

  61. http://www.Ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePage/Blogs/blog.article.php?blog=146685&ID=1000216606 Says:

    It’s awesome to pay a quick visit this website and reading the views of all colleagues about this piece of writing, while I am also keen of getting familiarity.

  62. 3:36 AM Says:

    Its like you learn my thoughts! You appear to understand a lot about this, such as you
    wrote the ebook in it or something. I think that you
    can do with a few percent to pressure the message
    house a bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog. A fantastic
    read. I will certainly be back.

  63. how to install a hunter ceiling fan Says:

    Computer- When looking for a computer you need to decide whether you want a pc or
    a laptop. As the student gets older and progresses through school they will have more and
    more work so storage space is essential. Minka Aire Fans F518-WH44
    Concept II Contemporary Flush Mount.

  64. camping stoves propane Says:

    It’s very trouble-free to find out any matter on net as compared to books, as I found this article at this web site.

  65. Sung Says:

    Good way of explaining, and fastidious article to get data regarding my presentation
    subject matter, which i am going to deliver in university.

  66. Terence Says:

    Hello there, I believe your site may be having internet browser compatibility problems.
    Whenever I take a look at your website in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in I.

    E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Besides that, excellent blog!

  67. webcamchat Says:

    Its like you read my thoughts! You appear to understand so much approximately this,
    like you wrote the guide in it or something. I feel that you can do with a few
    p.c. to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is magnificent blog.
    A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

  68. Joel Says:

    I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s equally educative and entertaining, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I came across this during my hunt for something regarding this.

  69. voyance gratuite Says:

    This website certainly has all the info I needed concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  70. Cheap LeBron James Shoes Says:

    I am really loving the theme/design of your site. Do you ever run into
    any browser compatibility issues? A number of my blog audience have complained about my blog not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great
    in Firefox. Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

  71. tarot gratis Says:

    Hey There. I found your blog the usage of msn. This is a really smartly written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your helpful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  72. manele-gratis-2012.com Says:

    If you find it a bit maddening to follow the daily fluctuations
    of the scale even though you are eating properly, pick three days of the week
    on which you will always weigh yourself (for example,
    Monday, Wednesday, and Friday). Avocados- Although not my favorite, are high in fats,
    the good ones. Many people don’t have the time to weight themselves every day, but checking the scale on a regular basis can definitely help when you’re working to lose weight and keep it off.

  73. voyance gratuite Says:

    It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest
    you some interesting things or tips. Perhaps you could write
    next articles referring to this article. I desire to read even more things about it!

  74. LENNY JENNINGS Says:

    Platoon 3001 1957 M-1 rifle We had a number of Native American Indians in our platoon. One of them would catch a rattle snake and bring it back into our tent, still alive . If you showed any fear, you would be sleeping with it. I also remember humping back to San Diego from Camp Matthews through a beautiful neighborhood. Our platoon dog led the way. There’s a picture of it on a leash with our Right Guide in our Platoon Book. Anybody remember “Squads right. Forward march!”

    P.S. Duck Walking wasn’t so bad, it was the Elbows and Toes that got me.

  75. Faith Says:

    You don’t have to hit the gym for two and three hours each day to lose weight, but it does help to squeeze in 30 minutes of physical activity each day. In fact, I always suggest to those overweight vegetarians to keep to a max of 4 pounds a week so you won’t suffer loose skin post weight loss.
    Now, the average healthy amount people are supposed to lose is 2 pounds per week.

  76. Nike Air Max Says:

    However, able Nike nike air max classic can not annoyed bazaar demand,
    added and added youngers would like to choose that ones,
    nevertheless, the key technology. Jump rope is one of the
    most useful tools for boxers in training. We human chosen
    the person Nike nike air max classic Styles.
    0 shoes you want to enlarge, and then she&rsquos prone to enjoy
    the shox shoes ourselves.

  77. web site Says:

    Very rapidly this site will be famous among all blogging and site-building viewers, due to it’s fastidious content

  78. Dave Bickmeier Says:

    I went thru camp Mathews in late May or early June 1964. I think that we we the last class to graduate from there. While I was there, everyone who ate in the mess hall, came down with a case of the “stomach flu”. It complicated running and shooting for a few days.

    Some years back, I was driving south on I-5 and realized that the road went down the length of the rifle range. The memories of running those hills came back as vivid as ever. I’ve searched the area on Google Earth, but no visible signs remain.

  79. don hughes Says:

    I went thru camp Mathews in late May or early June 1960 pt 336.anyone there at the same time?

  80. pets websites Says:

    You really make it seem really easy along with your presentation however I find this topic to be
    actually one thing which I believe I would never
    understand. It kind of feels too complicated and very large for me.
    I’m having a look forward to your subsequent post, I will attempt to get the dangle of it!

  81. voyance Says:

    You can definitely see your expertise within the work you write.

    The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are not
    afraid to say how they believe. All the time go after
    your heart.

  82. gain weight Says:

    gain weight

    Boot Rifle Tranning at Camp Mathews | The life, times and adventures of Rambling Bob

  83. Johna613 Says:

    Thank you, I have just been searching for info about this subject for a long time and yours is the greatest I’ve found out so far. However, what about the bottom line? Are you positive concerning the supply? fbfbedefadgf

  84. Jay B. Allen Says:

    J. B. Allen 3087 says:

    I went through Camp Mathews from late Dec. 56 thru Jan. 57. We lived in those 8 man tents with the roll up sides and no stoves! Our tents were the first row by the Aviator wings which we had to sweep every morning. We fired on Fox range and dropped 12 men which made DI Hatfield furious, and something we paid for daily. Also we were in competition with Plt. 3086 which by the way was the Plt. that did the marching in the movie DI. Since our Jr. DI Goldsboro didn’t get the part played by Sgt. Prutzman who counted the cadence in the flick none of our Plt. got to be in the flick, I’m still upset about that. I remember those Range Coach’s got to wear those fur lined coats with big collars because every morning it was freezing. All in all fond memories of Camp Mathews, the M-1 was a great weapon.

  85. high quality backlinking Says:

    certainly like your website but you have to
    take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts.
    Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding it very bothersome to inform
    the truth however I’ll surely come again again.

  86. Jim Lynch Says:

    Memories! Platoon 178, MCRDSD,1957. Liked Mathews due to seeing movies there.Hid a stick of gum which I chewed on at the movie.Saw an A-bomb go off early one morning on the way to BAR firing. Sgt Lowe, Sgt Beene were the Di that were liked, others not so much. Hiked back to MCRD, the ones that didn’t qualify, ran to the front of the column, then back to the rear.Back and forth,back and forth! Still have an M-1

  87. gym duffel bag under armour Says:

    A person essentially lernd a hand to make severely articles I’d state.
    That is the very first tme I frequented yoiur website page
    and upp to now? I amazed with the rsearch you made
    to make this particular publish incredible. Great activity!

  88. Larry Wakefield Says:

    Hey Bob,I was in plt 111 1964,do you remember the lovable Cpl. coffer?????

  89. Jim Mimmack Says:

    Hey…I shot for record at Camp Matthews, January 1951 as a recruit. Returned in September 1951 as a coach when the 1st Evacuation Hospital at Camp Pendleton was disbanded. Anyone who shot expert and was over six feet tall was asked to go and I volunteered. I was a Reserve and stayed at Matthews until my COG time ran out late 1952. Good memories of The Cove and Morey’s in LaJolla. Good duty when a war was going on in Korea.

  90. J. B. Allen Says:

    Our platoon 3087 arrived at Camp Matthews Christmas week 1956. I recall just how cold those tents were and in the night the wind would blow the tent flaps. Also there was a large set of wings in a common area we had to sweep daily. The week prior to qualification I broke the little finger on my left hand, DI Hatfield said, “If you go to Sick Bay and they put a cast on it you will be dropped”. So putting on the shooting glove was painful to say the least but I qualified, missing Expert by one point, which was a great disappointment.
    I returned to Matthews and Pendleton in 1997 and nothing has remained the same. I have wonderful memories of the places and of those in the platoon. We almost made it in the movie DI.

  91. Richard Rowe Says:

    Wow. Surprised how this thread maintains legs.
    I went through the Second Training Battalion starting June 22, 1964.
    We spent the two weeks at Matthews, and my Platoon, 251, did the worst on the range over all. Our reward was going back to MCRD for a week of He!!, as the DI’s were pissed. Then a week later, we went back to Camp Matthews, and closed the base, doing mess duty. So, I know for a fact that we were the second to last group to qualify at Matthews.
    I was a Smedley. Remember the Smedley? I was the one waiting on the Officers in their part of the Mess. There was so much brass running around Camp Matthews that week. Highest ranking officer was MajGen Hockmuth, from MCRD. (I was in the 1st Mar Div Comm Center on Nov. 14, 1967, when the General went down).
    Lots of memories in a simpler time.

  92. L. R. Haff Says:

    I was in Platoon 344 at MCRD during the Summer of 1958….also at the range at Camp Matthews. SSgt Dan Danquer was our SDI. I would much enjoy hearing from anyone from our recruit platoon.

  93. Leigh Warsaw Says:

    Thanks for taking time for sharing this article, it was excellent and very informative. It’s my first time that I visit here. I found a lot of informative stuff in your article. Keep it up.

  94. LENNY JENNINGS Says:

    The hump back to MCRD was my best memory. Walking though a beautiful neighborhood with dogs barking. Were strung out, for a quarter of a mile, with rifles, and light packs………it was surreal. ‘1957’

  95. Dan McVey Says:

    I went though camp matthews in May 1964 one of the last. platoon 329. I fired 248 some guy in the east fired 249 so I didn’t get the 30-30 he did. I guess that why they made a sniper out of me in vietnam. Would like to find someone that went though when I did. Be great to find someone that was in my platoon.

  96. Paul Stine Says:

    I was there in ’53. Willl never forget the two hill approches to our tent camp; one was Big Agony, the other..simply called Agony. It was hot as hell, when they marched us for chow into their mirserable mess hall… a steamy unappitizing, facility, half buried into the ground. Exhausted, but hungry, they pushed us through the chow line. As I recall, we wore our helmets. Thiings went as usual, ’til I got to end of serving line, when this messman, flopped my pad of ice cream, right into middle of my hot mashed spuds. I glared st him..he grinned at me. Well, I’d had it! I pushed the entire tray of food into his face..turned and ran like hell. Mess Sgt, was yellin’, “Stop that S.O.B. !” Well, Marines at ends of each mess table tried to oblige, by grabbing at me, but I had enough momentum in my favor, they couldn’t stop me. Funny thing about Marines; they didn’t mind punishment, as long as it wasn’t upon them. Well, i climbed Agony in record speed. Wisely headed for tent area different than mine. Went into one, and hid under a bunk; even with tent sides down, it was not the best concealment. I could hear a bunch of ’em seaarching the camp edge. I simply came out, yawned, and inquired what the hell was going on. They gave me short description of the great offense that and taken place, and I joined them in the search. It was my best performace in Escape and Evasion. And was grateful, my platoon kept the faith, with mouths shut. Good men, one and all! Paul

Leave a Reply

