?????CATS!!!!AGAIN?????

     Well it’s happened again!   We had breakfast with my wife’s niece, the one who arranged the cat that has pretty much controlled my life these last five years.  We have grown close and comfortable with each other.  She is a big girl a Maine Coon  weighing in at five-teen pounds and growing.  She is long haired and what my wife calls a mocha color with white ring around her neck and white chest and belly and feet.  She has the darker rings on her bushy tail from which i suppose the name comes.  I used to think there was something wrong with her feet because of the long tuff’s of hair that grows on the bottoms and around the toes, but have learned that is a charismatic with the breed.  She is a intelligent and very vocal individual she never shuts up.  she has a greeting and comment every time she passed through the room.  And knows just what she wants to do and expects me to facilitate it for her.  I would not trade her for anything although I was not really happy when she moved in.  I thought she would be my wife’s cat and that would be the extent of the matter.  This big girl is a equal opportunity owner of us both.  Her relationship with us is different.  She plays with my wife in one manner and I in  anouther.  She will demand that I pick her up and walk around with her whereas my wife has to grab her if she wants to carry her around.   She will come and sit on my lap if I am trying to read the paper and often will lay in it to keep my attention on her.  She is jealous when I stop to talk to my wife and cries for attention.  I thought we had settled in to a comfortable routine.  Like Emeril says BAM!

     Was having breakfast with my wife and her niece Friday morning.  They were carrying on with the family gosip their favorite pass-time, I was reading the paper minding my own business with just a half a ear on what was going on.  suddenly I heard someone dumped a kitten in John open window the other day.  Warning bell started going off in my hearing impaired ears.  “How old?”  “Six weeks, maybe”.  Now red lights are flashing behind my eyes deep in my addled brain.  Some more talk then “Do you want to go see the kitty?”  If you are married you know that is not really a question.  So after we finished eating and paying the bill off we go to see the kitty, like Dorothy down the yellow brick road.  Well its black, blue eyed and can curl up in my hand with room to spare and for a man my hands are not that big.  Yeah it’s cute very cute, but my wife has never expressed any interest in black cats, that’s my daughters preference.  So I figure I’m safe, wrong.  When we drive off my wife has the baby wrapped up in a old white tee shirt I had in the back, a bag of kitten food at her feet and a contented wife and kitten in the passenger seat.

     On the arrival home I dug up the small litter box we had for Cheyenne when a baby and my wife prepares water and food in her bedroom for the new intruder.  Because that is how the older Cheyenne views the new kid.  They took one look at each other the baby arched her back and hissed all one pound and two ounce of her, Cheyenne ran off then came back and had herself a good hissing fit.  And so it has gone on for the last twenty six or seven hours.  Cheyenne has gone on a hunger and pouting strike, and will not have much to do with either of us, although I have limited my contact with the baby in-order to give her support and care.  My wife was so upset last night she was going to take the kitten back this morning even after making a vet apt. for this morning to get the kitten immunised and checked out.  After I went to bed last night I heard my wife coming, she stuck her head in the door and said get me up at a quarter to nine for the vets, like I knew she would. 

     The trip to the vets went as expected.  Baby was pronounced to be healthy and fit.  All the girls were in high Ecstasy over the kitten.  If I had known a baby cat had that effect on young women I would have had one when I was young and single.  They oohed and awed like it was the neatest thing they had ever seen.    A much older male nurse when told of the circumstance of the baby’s finding told us what a wonderful gift we had.  He feels we have in our possession a near pure breed Burmese, said she would not stay black but would turn a sable color, if her blue eyes turn yellow she is a Burmese.  Up on the return home I got out the cats book and found this to be a very loving people cat that craves affection.    When told of Cheyennes reservations the guy told us to give them some time of course this is a intruder and the older cat will resent it for a while, but he grantees they will become fast friends soon.  Any way $152.27 later she had been immunised with the first od a series of shots, got wormed, had her tiny Sharp claws clipped ($11.o3), ears treated for ear-mites, and a thermometer stuck up her small butt, which she did not like at all.  All in all another cheap free cat.   Wish me luck here I go again, but I do look forward to bring the small fishing pole back in and attaching a small rubber mouse to a long line and sitting in y recliner and casting the mouse all over the living room.  ramblngbob

Tags: , ,

One Response to “?????CATS!!!!AGAIN?????”

  1. Raven Says:

    Uhoh, you guys are in for it! You know I love black kitties – their faces are so expressive. As you know I have 3 cats but two black ones right now and the other black and white. Beware – cats are like tattoos, once you get one you want more and more! Cheyenne will come around and then it will be a battle of the b*tches to see who can get your attention first😉

    Love to you and mom!

Leave a Reply

